COVID Thanksgiving: Why Be Thankful?

Thanksgiving looks so very different this year. But, let’s be real, everything about this year has been different. Most family traditions have been thrown out the window (or adjusted). Everything has changed. How we grocery shop, how we celebrate, how we worship…so very different. COVID19 has managed to tempt me to complain and yet, simultaneously be grateful for all the things I miss. It’s a strange world that can easily leave one unsettled.

As I was thinking about Thanksgiving tomorrow, I decided to review what what the Bible said about giving thanks. As I read over 100 references to “giving thanks”, I was struck that most of the thanksgiving was not tied to possessions or experiences. The authors of Scripture were “giving thanks” for the character and attributes of God (and how those attributes directly affected their lives). They were “giving thanks” for God’s mercy and kindness; for His salvation and grace. They were “giving thanks” for the people God has placed in their life. Here are a few that specifically struck me:

…give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. -1 Thess. 5:18

I will give thanks to the Lord because of his righteousness;
    I will sing the praises of the name of the Lord Most High. -Ps. 17:17

I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart;
    I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.
 I will be glad and rejoice in you;
    I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High. -Ps. 9:1-2

What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?  Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! -Romans 7:24-25

And in their prayers for you their hearts will go out to you, because of the surpassing grace God has given you. Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift! -2 Cor. 9:14-15

For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. -Eph. 1:15-17

Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under its wings. Day and night they never stop saying:

“‘Holy, holy, holy

is the Lord God Almighty,’

who was, and is, and is to come.”

Whenever the living creatures give glory, honor and thanks to him who sits on the throne and who lives for ever and ever,  the twenty-four elders fall down before him who sits on the throne and worship him who lives for ever and ever. -Rev. 4:8-10

There are SO many more verses like these. As I read I began to adjust my thinking. Yes, this year is bizarrely different. But, I have boundless reasons to give thanks. Here a few that come to mind…

  • I am loved by the God who created the sun, moon, and stars. The Creator who sustains every tree, flower, mountain, molecule, and atom; calls me His child. He knows me by name. He’s creating a place for me in Heaven. He has redeemed me. He died for me. He knows every hair on my head. He keeps my lungs beating and the blood flowing within my body. He formed me and He patiently teaches me every single day.
  • This Creator and Savior forgives me. Every single day I disobey and sin against him. Yet, He forgives me EVERY SINGLE TIME. Not only does He forgive, but He is continuously making me more like Him. He doesn’t forgive me and leave me to figure things out on my own. He lives inside me and helps me to choose Him, not sin. He’s given me His very Words to lead and guide me.
  • Even though I have health problems, they could be worse. It doesn’t lessen the genuine pain or suffering, but it does help put it into perspective. I can walk, I can see, I can hear. I don’t have cancer. I may have to be extremely careful right now because of my health, but there are so many things that do not hinder me. I’m not sick and in a hospital. All of my symptoms are 100% manageable and in that I am so blessed.
  • I have an amazing family that I love dearly. This stupid virus makes seeing most of them difficult. And honestly, that’s the hardest part for me. BUT, I’m also grateful that I have family to miss. And I’m also grateful for technology that allows me to face time with my family. Technology that allows me to have those normal pre-pandemic conversations about Star Wars and other random things.
  • I’m grateful for technology that has allowed me to keep friendships flourishing. I actually talk more now with old friends than I have in ages. That is a blessing a cherish.
  • As much as I hate watching church service online and long to worship my Savior in person with other believers, I’m grateful that I’m still able to feed my soul and connect online.

That is just the tip of the iceberg. I could talk about a job that lets me work remotely. My dog that is my constant companion. And so much more! If you’re like me and struggling to find the thanks in this Thanksgiving, let me encourage you to do three things.

  1. Go to your favorite Bible software or concordance. Look up thanks, grateful, or thanksgiving. Allow God’s loving words to remind you of what you have been given. Let them remind you of truths that cannot be taken away by virus or anything else.
  2. Stop for a second and think of a few things that you can be thankful for.
  3. And then take a moment to thank God for all of the ways He has protected and provided for you. Even the small things point to a big God who cares for and about you!

Even if this Thanksgiving is difficult and/or different, hang in there! There is good admist what appears dark and bleak. I am praying that God will show you those glimpses of light, even when all appears less than pleasant.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment