Journey of Faithfulness

n1141492659_30324722_1633504

“All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love & faithfulness.” Ps. 25:10

“For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in your faithfulness.” Ps. 26:3

 

 

The word combination, steadfast love, is seen in the Bible 206 times. Steadfast means:

1 a : firmly fixed in place : immovable b : not subject to change <the steadfast doctrine of original sin — Ellen Glasgow>

 

Why journeyoffaithfulness.wordpress.com? Why do I title my blog steadfast love?

Several months ago, I came across Psalm 25:10. After that, I did a word search online (esv.org) for steadfast love. As I meditated on the Scriptures I found, I was deeply affected.

The Bible is true, every single word in it. Sadly, there are times that I do not think this. I pick and choose what I want to believe and what I believe in theory, but not in my life. But, either ALL of the Bible is true or none of it is. It’s either the very Words of God or a compilation of horrendous lies…And of course, the Bible is true!

So if the Bible is true, then how do I apply Ps. 25:10? ALL the paths of the Lord are steadfast (firmly fixed in place, not subject to change) love and faithfulness? How do you apply that God’s firmly fixed, unchangeable love is before my eyes and I walk in His faithfulness?

One of my favorite ways to look at life is as a long road. Whatever I encounter on that road has been sovereignly placed there by my Heavenly Father. My task is to faithfully plod forward on that road; knowing that He will give me grace, strength, and help for whatever I encounter. And I’ve encountered joys upon joys and hardship. He has faithfully seen me through both.

Last year, I became “intolerant” to wheat, gluten, artificial coloring, and nitrates. I added these foods to the already long list of other allergies I had. The doctor’s answer to my new food allergies? Simple, just stay away from them. Ha, that’s easier said than done. My new intolerance began an new journey. A journey of not always feeling well, of learning to give up the foods I loved (If the truth be told, I loved them too much.), and of learning to press through even when I didn’t feel good. I have learned to not complain (as much :)). I have learned what working faithfully looks like when all you want to do is lie down. I have learned to smile and serve others, not drawing attention to myself. I have learned to trust my Father’s hand in the midst of physical suffering. He has faithfully seen me through it all.

The past year has seen a lot of business. It’s seen a lot of caring for folks that are going through physical suffering and ongoing sin. It’s been saying good-bye to friends and making new ones. The past year has been learning some very hard lessons about singleness and God’s sovereignty in my life. It’s probably been the most difficult year I have yet to walk through.

But, it’s been such a sweet journey. A journey of being upheld by my faithful Savior. A year of experiencing His grace in new ways. A year of drawing closer to Him. A year of learning what trust is.

On this journey of life, I have found that there is one thing that never changes, God is ALWAYS faithful. Whatever He puts in my path, whatever joys, whatever trials and sufferings; it is always for my good and His glory. His path (following Him, being His child, obeying Him) is always steadfast love and faithfulness. ALWAYS! No exceptions.

And that is why I named my blog journeyoffaithfulness.wordpress.com. As a Christian, that is what my life is. A journey towards Heaven, experiencing the faithfulness and love of Christ every day, in every circumstance. My desire is that my blog reflects my life, my journey, my God, and my love for my God.

 

“All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love & faithfulness.” Ps. 25:10

“For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in your faithfulness.” Ps. 26:3

Leave a Reply

