Trusting The Savior

I don’t know about you, but I can have a hard time obeying the Scripture, “Do not be anxious about your life…”. My self-sufficient self wants to be in control. I want to know what is coming around the bend. I want to be prepared. But, often, God does not allow me to see what is coming next. I may know in part, what is going to happen in the next couple of month, but even then many things happen that I would never have foreseen.

But, over the years I have slowly begun to see that this “blindness” to my future is a good thing. If I knew what was coming around the bend, my self-sufficiency would be massive. If I knew all, I would have no reason to cling to my Savior. That sweet fellowship and desperate communion would be so minimal. The unknown makes every step, a step of faith. The unknown makes me cling to the One who knows all. The unknown forces me to gaze upward and trust in His sovereign care. Without Him I have and am NOTHING! The unknown proves to me that there is nothing of importance in me and that there is NOTHING more important and more trustworthy than Him!

He alone is my rock and my fortress. An ever-present help in time of need.

I love you, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my6 rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the LORD who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies…This is God-his way is perfect, the word of the LORD proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him. Ps. 18:1-3, 30

In His infinite wisdom, God allows trials in order to develop perseverance in us and to cause us to fix our hopes on the glory that is yet to be revealed… Our faith and perseverance can grow only under the pain of trial. – Jerry Bridges

When God wants to drill a man
And thrill a man
And skill a man,
When God wants to mold a man
To play the noblest part;
When He yearns with all His heart
To create so great and bold a man
That all the world shall be amazed,
Watch His methods, watch His ways!
How He ruthlessly perfects
Whom He royally elects!
How he hammers him and hurts him,
And with mighty blows converts him
Into trial shapes of clay which
Only God understands;
While his tortured heart is crying
And he lifts beseeching hands!
How He bends but never breaks
When his good He undertakes;
How He uses whom He chooses
And with every purpose fuses him;
By every act induces him
To try His splendour out-
God knows what He’s about!

-Author Unknown (Via The Blazing Center)

One thought on “Trusting The Savior

Leave a comment