Pray

So many thoughts swirling around in my head right now. So much turmoil going on in our nation. Presidential primaries have begun. Que endless debates. These were the thoughts I posted on Facebook yesterday…

Just a little thought. As presidential primaries are coming, as the nation is in turmoil over many sad events…everyone has an opinion. And just because they may not agree with you, doesn’t make anyone worthy of your disdain or unkind remarks. To keep myself from being a butt and hurting friends who disagree with me, I try (emphasis on try, ’cause I’m sure I still do) to remember this…If I wouldn’t say it to their face while having coffee, why would I say it on Facebook. Everyone has an opinion, let’s respect their opinion. You don’t have to agree, but you don’t have to be unkind either.

And if you’re a believer like me, then I’d encourage you to remember (like I have to remind myself ALL the TIME, ’cause I’m pigheaded and selfish)…Loving like Christ should ALWAYS come before my opinions & what I post. Just a random thought.

More than anything, remember to pray!!! Pray for peace. Pray for the truth to prevail. Pray for justice. Pray for God’s mercy.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:4-7 ESV)

We ask you, brothers, to respect those who labor among you and are over you in the Lord and admonish you, and to esteem them very highly in love because of their work. Be at peace among yourselves. And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. See that no one repays anyone evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophecies, but test everything; hold fast what is good. Abstain from every form of evil.
Now may the God of peace himself sanctify you completely, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. He who calls you is faithful; he will surely do it. (1 Thessalonians 5:12-24 ESV)

Leave a Reply

