God’s Priorities Or Mine? Does Love Cover?

“I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me. Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world. John 17:20-24

Two things that stuck out to me as I read this passage:

1. Jesus prays for unity among His disciples. Unity is a big deal to God.
2. Unity brings God glory and shows a lost and dying world the amazing glory of our God.

These two points lead me to ask myself a few questions:

Is unity a priority in my life?

Do I actively pursue unity; putting aside my petty (or not so petty) offenses?

When I have been offended and/or when I am in a conflict what is most important? Am I more concerned with being right and my pound of flesh; or the desire to glorify God and strive for unity with my brothers and sisters in Christ? The brothers and sisters He died for and I will spend eternity in Heaven with.

What is more important God’s priorities or mine?

Ouch! I need to think and pray about this passage more. When it comes to the small, doing life together offenses, I find that what I want or feel often far outweighs what matters most to God…forgiveness, love, unity.

2 thoughts on “God’s Priorities Or Mine? Does Love Cover?

  1. You have hit the nail on the head. Inclusion or exclusion? God wants us ALL no matter what. It’s tough sometimes and I have to keep reminding myself–God’s way is the only way. Very nice post!

Leave a Reply

