Take A Leap…

527938286_24dd2df206_z

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes… Romans 1:16a

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

The Lord will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The Lord will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore. Psalm 121:7-8

“Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil” (Ps. 37:8)

The Great Master Gardener, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, in a wonderful providence, with his own hand, planted me here, where by his grace in this part of his vineyard, I grow; and here I will abide till the great Master of the vineyard think fit to transplant me. – Samuel Rutherford, The Loveliness of Christ

Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation that you believe to be the will of God. -Jim Elliot

You may be thinking that I have completely lost my mind. What do the above Scriptures and quotes have in common? Why in the world would I put them together in one blog post? Over the past week I’ve been giving a lot of thought to fear, obedience, & following God’s plan/being used by God. I often give God excuses of why He shouldn’t use me or why I choose not to step out in faith (i.e. disobey in fear).

The Christian life is often one of blind obedience. It’s full of “jump off the cliff” moments. We do not understand God’s plan or how He will use us. We do not know the why and often can’t “see” our hand in front of our face. Yet, God calls us to step out in faith and be used by Him. He calls us to be faithful where He has planted us (even if it’s somewhere you don’t like). He has called us to step out in faith when life is new (my current situation). He doesn’t give us the option clause of being used in ways that make sense, but in ways He calls and chooses.

Obedience isn’t meant to be comfortable. Faith doesn’t come easy. But, if life was easy and comfortable, would we cling to the Savior? God doesn’t call me to serve where I want to serve. God doesn’t call me to be tentative Christian. I am to see where He has planted me and give my everything to living and growing where I am. I am to live my life to the hilt; fearlessly serving and obeying where my Savior has planted me.

How can I do this? Jesus has died for my sins! I am a redeemed rebel! His power and grace lives within me. The Holy Spirit resides within me. God has promised to never leave me. He has promised to give me power, grace, and strength.  No matter what I’m called to do, He has promised to keep my life.

With these objective promises actively evident in my life, why do I not jump off that cliff with eager, joyful expectation?

Where are you not abiding, growing, or walking? Where are you tentatively walking in obedience? Where is God calling you to trust His grace and step out in faith?

(picture via. doug mcneall)

3 thoughts on “Take A Leap…

  1. I think God has really blessed your stepping out in faith. You’ve always been an awesome example of someone who has “given her everything to living and growing” in the place where God has called you. Isnt it cool to think about how you stepped out in faith with this past decision (move to MD) and God provided big time and blessed you? Be encouraged that he has great plans for you, and will continue to give grace to trust him.

    Thanks for this, I definitely need a bashing over the head with this truth.

Leave a Reply

