New Year’s Plan

I don’t like New Year’s Resolutions. They never seem to happen and then I feel guilty when they don’t. Either that or I legalistically go about my year trying to accomplish all that I said I would. Grace rarely enters into my new year’s resolutions. So, this year, I’ve decided to layout a plan. By God’s grace, I want to read more. I find that I fill my down time with fluff (which isn’t bad), but I’m not stretching and disciplining my mind. So, without being legalist, I want to read more this year. I probably won’t get through all these books, but I’m gonna give it a college try. Smile 

Recently, I was reading a biography on Martin Luther and came across this quote…

Sola Scriptura also means that the Bible stands as the only sure and necessary guide for life and godliness. Luther not only stated this principle, he lived it, as he made a commitment to turn to the Scriptures on a daily basis. He was so faithful to the reading of the bible that he read through the entire Bible two times annually. He once remarked, “If you picture the Bible to be a mighty tree and every word a little branch, I have shaken every one of those branches because I wanted to know what it was and what it meant.” –Stephen J. Nichols

I’ve been convicted that I don’t read the Bible enough and I’ve never read the Bible through. Not that everyone, must read the Bible through, but I’ve felt like I should, but it’s never been a priority. So, starting tomorrow, I’m gonna try and through the Bible in 2011. I’m going to be using my ESV Journaling Bible (if I write, it helps me to stay focused and engaged) and using the Book at a Time plan by Discipleship Reading Journal.

I’m really excited about my reading for 2011!

The Good News We Almost Forgot – Kevin DeYoung *

The Bookends of the Christian Life – Jerry Bridges & Bob Bevington *

Martin Luther – Stephen J. Nichols *

The Hidden Life of Prayer – David McIntyre *

The Rising Tide – Jeff Shaara

All Things For Good – Thomas Watson

The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment – Jeremiah Burroughs

The Secret of Chimneys – Agatha Christie

The Hidden Smile of God – John Piper

Rise to Rebellion – Jeff Shaara

Contending For Our All – John Piper

The Great Exchange – Jerry Bridges & Bob Bevington

Girls Gone Wise In A World Gone Wild – Mary A. Kassian

Counted Righteous in Christ – John Piper

Why Didn’t They Ask Evans? – Agatha Christie

Shopping For Time – Girl Talk

Parker Payne Investigates – Agatha Christie

Because He Loves Me – Elyse M. Fitzpatrick

Dug Down Deep – Joshua Harris

The Legacy of Sovereign Joy – John Piper

The Rising Tide – Jeff Shaara

* Currently Reading

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Plan

Leave a Reply

