I Would Not Be A Servant of Christ

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10

It’s interesting to note that Paul does does not give us any room for an alternate plan or idea. He also makes it very clear, serving God and pleasing man cannot co-exist. You can do one or the other, but not both. Take a moment to think about this. As I was meditating on this verse I was struck by the fact that when I am thinking about what someone will think of ______. God is the furthest thing from my thoughts. When I spend time wondering what someone things of my actions or what someone things of the way I dress; I’m acting like God doesn’t exist. In those moments all that matters is that person (or group of people) and their opinions of me. And on the flip side of that, when I’m consumed with serving and glorifying God, I don’t care what people think of my actions, speech, or dress. My only concern is God’s opinion.

I also noticed that Paul makes a very bold statement at the end of this verse. You cannot please man and be a servant of Christ. He doesn’t say it’s hard or difficult to do both. He says you cannot, it’s impossible. It makes me think, what is more important to me? Would I rather please man or be a servant of the King? Duh!

Thinking of the fear of man in such black and white categories helps take it out of the list of “ok” sins and puts it where it belongs. It’s an affront to the nature and character of God. It distracts me from the things of God (more on that later). It prohibits me from enjoying God and serving Him. And by making it a “big sin”, it forces me to cling to the Savior for His help, instead of self-sufficiently trying to conquer it on my own.  Oh the freedom of seeing your sin in it’s true light and knowing that your Savior has promised to help you kill it! That’s an encouraging way to start the day!!!

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes…” Ro. 1:16a

Leave a Reply

