It’s All About Me?

Many biblical passages tell us how creation testifies to God’s glory and power. “The heavens declare the glory of God,” Psalm 19:1 says. “The sky above proclaims his handiwork,” Paul says in Romans 1:20 that God’s “invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made.” If you’ve ever stood at the edge of a canyon and seen the birds swooping below you and the clouds stretched out over your head, or if you’ve ever stood in a field and felt a tiny rush of fear as you’ve watched a thunderstorm roll in over the horizon, then you know what this means. There is something about the grandeur of creation that calls out to the human heart, saying, “You are not all there is!” -Greg Gilbert, What Is The Gospel?

Years ago Hillsong came out with a great worship song entitled, Jesus Lover of my Soul. In the chorus are these words, “It’s all about you, Jesus. And all this is for you, for your glory and your fame. It’s not about me, as if you should do things my way. You alone are God and I surrender, to your ways.” I one time heard someone do a spoof on this song. It was an apt rendition of what is often sung in my own soul. “It’s all about me…and all this if for me, for my glory and my fame. It’s not about you…you should do things my way…”

It’s NOT about me. This is an objective fact that I conveniently ignore. The Bible clearly states over and over again that we were created for God. For His purposes and His pleasure. My life isn’t about my preferences, my desires, and my opinions. I am here to glorify the Savior and show His gospel love to others. But, so often I forget that. Someone asks me to do something that inconveniences me. Someone says something unkind. Someone forgets something they’ve promised. Someone judges me or says something unkind about a friend. In those moments who am I living for? Am I living for Jessica and Jessica’s reputation? Or am I living for my God and His reputation?

There are two things that I love about living in the country. Approaching thunderstorms and a clear starry night. I love watching the clouds roll in and the sky turn dark. I enjoy standing in my driveway at night and looking at a vast sky, full of stars. Both of these things make me feel very small and insignificant. Both leave me feeling out of control and very tiny. Both remind me of Who IS in control. They remind me of God’s power and greatness. This often leaves me in awe as I contemplate this great God, Who sent His Son to die for my sins. This awesome, creative God, Who lovingly and with much care orchestrates my life. It’s a good reminder that it’s not about me. It’s all about Him! And I’m so glad it is!

Leave a Reply

