Money, Contentment, Anxiety, & Fear

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment, for we brought nothing into the world, and [3] we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. 1Tim. 6:6-8

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Phil. 4:11-13

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. Matt.6:25-34

No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life. Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you. 6 Be strong and courageous…Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua1:5-6a, 9

I have been young, and now am old,
yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
or his children begging for bread. Ps. 37:25

I have recently discovered an area of discontent that has been in my life, but I’ve never really noticed it. Worrying about money. I bought a new car for cash. I had almost the right amount of money, but note quite enough. So I borrowed a little from my parents. I’ve been working really hard to pay it back (and I will by the end of the month!!!). Because of this, I’ve cut out most of my unnecessary expenses. Wow, you don’t realize what an idol you make out of buying random things (or going out to eat) when you decide not to do them anymore. I also have a very incomplete room. It needs a lot of TLC. I love decorating, so I’m really enjoying the process. However, I can’t get it all done today. I don’t have the finances to do that. It’s a slow process and I don’t like slow. So, I’ve found that money has been in my mind a lot lately. And I’m finding my heart often tempted to anxiousness. This morning I felt the Holy Spirit leading me to read and blog about Hebrews 13:5. Little did I realize that a brief study of that passage would leave me convicted and comforted.

Convicted because I see the sin and idolatry in being anxious over things, God’s provision, and green backs. I find myself focused far more on what my bank balance says and when I’ll actually be able to pay my parents and purchase paint, then on the Savior Who loves me and died for me. I fret over my abilities (or lack there of) to have paid all of this of sooner. I fret over how I have to budget my renovations. And since anxiety isn’t ever tied to just one area. I fret over decisions yet to be made. I fret over my future. I fret over the fact that I don’t know exactly what God is doing and I want a 10 year plan! I am anxious over everything I do not understand (including my finances). I’m also convicted by the fact that I’m calling God a liar. He says He’ll never leave me or forsake me. He says that everything is done for my good. He is God. That means that EVERYTHING He says is true or none of it’s true. There is no middle ground with God. If one small thing He said was a lie, then He would cease to be God. It’s all or nothing. So, when I am anxious and fearful, I am accusing God of lying. Think about the implications of that. When I fret, worry, am anxious, what does that say about my view of God’s character? What am I accusing the Almighty Creator of?

But, I’m also comforted. Because of the cross and Jesus’ work on it, I know that I’m forgiven. I know I am an adopted child of God. As His child, God, promises to guide, direct, provide, and care for me. No matter the trial, He has promised to be with me. His children will never be begging for bread. He will provide ALL that I need. He will direct at just the right time.

"God never withholds from His child that which His love & wisdom call good. God’s refusals are always merciful. Severe mercies at times, but mercies all the same." –Unkown

What hope! I love how objectively filling my thoughts with specific Scriptures allays my fears and points my heart back on God (instead of on me)!

2 thoughts on “Money, Contentment, Anxiety, & Fear

  1. Thanks, Megan. It’s amazing how God shows up and points me to Scriptures and an area in my heart I was expecting. He’s so kind.

Leave a Reply

