On Asking Questions

There are not many new questions in our very human hearts. When I examine my own heart and find that I am tempted to say to the Lord, “Yes, but-“ or “What about-?” or “How can I possibly-?” I find that He has questions for me:

Are you willing to understand?

To rearrange your life?

To be healed?

To lose your life for my sake?

Do you want solutions or holiness?

Answers or orders?

The light of Christ or your own logic?

What does this mean? I must ask myself: Do I treat the truth of God as though it were something to be tinkered with or something to be submitted to?…God tells me I must leave such questions to Him, and do at once the thing He requires…How much more quickly we would find the answer we worry about if we just set about doing the thing the Lord tells us to do. Obedience opens our eyes. Do it, with childlike faith, no matter what the cost, for “whoever cares for his own safety is lost: but if a man will let himself be lost for my sake, he will find his true self” (Matt. 16:25, NEB).

…Evelyn Underhill puts it this way: “It is only disguised pride that makes us fret over what we can’t understand.”

God will see to it that we understand as much truth as we are willing to obey. (John 8:47) In other words, one’s commitment to God-a total self-abandonment-is prerequisite to hearing. When we wonder how God will do a thing this may spring from spiritual lust: I must have an explanation! We demand an answer when we ought to pray for a deeper confidence in Him who is the Answer. A simple heart, full of love for God, will soon learn what to do. Questions will be quieted. “The fruit of righteousness will be peace; the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever. My people will live in peaceful dwelling places, in secure homes, in undisturbed places of res” (Isa 31:17-18).

-Elisabeth Elliot, Secure In The Everlasting Arms

Leave a Reply

