Children of God

But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying “Abba! Father!” So you are no long a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God. Galatians 4: 4-7

The conviction behind this book is that realising what John (1 John) was speaking about is life-transforming. It lives at the heart of understanding the whole of the Christian life and all of the diverse elements to our daily experience. It is the way – not the only way, but the fundamental way – for the Christian to think about himself or herself. Our self-image, if it is to be biblical, will begin just here. God is my Father (the Christian’s self-image always begins with the knowledge of God and who he is!); I am one of his children (I know my real identity); his people are my brothers and sisters (I recognise the family to which I belong, and have discovered my deepest ‘roots’)…salvation is described as membership in the family of God. We are God’s sons and daughters, his free-born children. Being a Christian is not dependent on experiences so much as on our new relationship with God. –Sinclair B Ferguson, Children of the Living God

After listening to C.J. Mahaney preach on Sunday, I promptly went to my favorite bookstore (Westminster Bookstore) and bought two of the books he recommended. After C.J.’s sermon I realized how little I knew about the doctrine of adoption. After hearing his message I decided this was not a good thing. The doctrine of adoption is a fundamental doctrine of the Christian faith. The knowledge contained can (and should) have a huge impact on one’s soul. This doctrine shapes everything. The knowledge that God is your Father (and you are His child) colors every mundane, daily task. It affects everything.

The doctrine of adoption doesn’t really affect my life. Why? Sadly, because I’ve never studied or given much thought to it. And that is the reason I bought some books. As I enter my insane-never stop-busy season, I want to focus my heart. I want to be a Mary, quietly sitting, listening, and trusting. I want to be at peace in the midst of business. I want to be joyful, not frenzied. I do not want to pull myself up by my own boot straps and git r’ done in my own strength. In short, I do not want to be a Martha.

The Holy Spirit has been convicting me the past couple of weeks. My life has been very Martha-like and my soul has become very weary. I have been trying to lean more on my Savior (and His strength) and less on my own abilities. I have been trying to quiet my soul and mind and listen. On Sunday, I realized a huge portion of my spiritual diet was missing. How I was viewing and approaching God was warped. I didn’t have the whole picture and that folks, affects any relationship!

I am 5 pages into Dr. Ferguson’s book (quote above). I could re-read those 5 pages over and over again. I already have enough food for thought to keep my meditating and blogging for weeks. Today I was struck with the simple fact that God is my Father and I am His daughter. There’s serious implications in that statement. Understanding that sentence affects so many things. It affects how I view suffering, unanswered questions, my sin, relationships, creation, etc. It affects how I look at every jot and tittle of my day.

Think on this fact. If you are a Christian, the Creator of the Universe is your Father and you are His child!

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. 1 John 3:1

Leave a Reply

