My Creator

None of us is autonomous, and understanding that fact is key to understanding the gospel. Despite our constant talk of rights and liberty, we are not really as free as we would like to think. We are created. We are made. And therefore we are owned.
Because he created us, God has the right to tell us how to live. (Gen. 2:16-17)…It’s not that God was acting like a child on a power trip, bossing is little brother around and making arbitrary rules just to see what would happen. No, the Bible tells us that God is good. He knew what was best for his people, and he gave them laws that would preserve and increase their happiness and well-being…
The gospel is God’s response to the bad news of sin, and sin is a person’s rejection of God’s Creator-rights over him. Thus the fundamental truth of human existence, the well from which all else flows, is that God created us and therefore God owns us.
-Greg Gilbert, What is the Gospel?

This quote fills me with such hope and gratitude. The Creator of the Universe not only owns me, but He saved me! He paid the penalty I deserve and He adopted me as His child! That is something I’ll never fully understand. The quote also makes me think, though. How often do I as a creature (and His child) kick against His will. “I don’t like this.” “No, I don’t want to serve so-and-so in that way.” “No, I want to chill, don’t ask me to this!” As His creature (and now as His redeemed child), shouldn’t I joyfully do whatever He calls me to? No only because He created me, but also because I know that whatever He calls me to will always be for my good!

4 thoughts on “My Creator

  1. Levelsofillusion,

    I am so sorry! That was not my intent at all. I was just trying to explain in more depth my belief, but in know way was I desiring to come across as no it all (’cause I certainly don’t know it all!) or arrogant. I sincerely apologize if I came across that way.

  2. It’s a pity you were not inclined to return the favor. If you did you would have realized how vacuous your reply to me would appear.

  3. Levelsofillusion,

    Thank you for commenting on my blog! I’m grateful for you taking the time. I’m always amazed when anyone reads anything that I post. I’m sorry you feel that my “religion” is just an accident and the result of where I live. I’m aware of Christians all over the world that profess Jesus as their Lord and Savior. Far from being just a belief system, it’s my life and joy. I’d love to point you to some great resources regarding this, if you are interested. Again, thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

